Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

Ruby and Sable are 2 rabbits who seemingly happily reside in a large ground level hutch in our backyard.

They are lionhead dwarf rabbits.

I picked both of them up the day they were to be euthenized.

Ruby was the “runt” of the litter, small and blind.

She waves her head side to side continually, grazing the air.

But she does fine, locates the water and food and was an enthusiastic participant in digging the family burrow.

Sable is a big girl.

Shivery and wide eyed.

Both sisters cuddle together under their house in their hutch

They work on their underground burrow together.

I hope they are happy here.

My human kids ask.

What is the point of having rabbits that won’t come to you?

That you can’t play with?

That are so not domesticated.

I don’t know.

I saw the sign, “free rabbits”.

I just stopped so Hoo could maybe pet a bunny.

When the owner told me she was moving the next day, and was euthenizing whomever was left…I didn’t want them to be killed for no reason other then no one wanted to offer them a home.

I wanted to do something for no reason other then it was right and not because I got something back.

I wanted to try to get it right for once.

I wanted to try.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud