Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

My sister is hilarious.

She always has the funniest stuff to share.

We were not always close.

As youngsters we battled our way through our youth.

Competitive and mean spirited with one another.

Taking out our frustrations on a difficult upbringing on the only people we could.

Each other.

But as adults we found our common ground.

Other women friends are great.

We share childrearing, school and work issues and men… well you know.

We don’t share them,

but the the commonalities of long marriages is a subject women

friends certainly share.

Give a table of grown women a pitcher or 2 of beer and a few hours.

Those noisy grown women who can’t stop laughing?

Uh huh…that’s me and my friends and the subject is almost always men.

You guys just crack us up.

Our intense discussion on our kids is done quietly in parks and cars…much more serious.

But with my women friends I am careful.

I don’t use bad language.

I don’t tell state secrets.

We love each other intensely but it’s more because of what we don’t know about

each other that we can love each other so.

My sister,

she knows it all.

Who else answers my calls with “Hi Ugly.”

And I answer, “Hey Turd”.

Mind you we are both well past 40.

We can discuss the prices in the markets, Mom’s latest catastrophe or the kid’s latest

heartbreak.

I can tell her anything.

She doesn’t judge.

I never have to worry that she is thinking ill of me or that

she won’t love me tomorrow.

She will.

She knows it all.

She shares my blood,

and my face,

now with the same droopy eyelids.

She is there,

always.

She is my sister.

Comments on: "Sisters:There’s A New Aviary Problem, Canarial Disease:Cherpes: Don’t worry It’s Tweetable (Waving Flag)" (2)

  1. Wow–I love your writing style. It’s poetic and simple and interesting, but it’s also quite truthful and complex. It’s so rare to come across a blog with such a unique voice. Very well done. I look forward to reading more.

    Thanks for stopping by 36×37 last week. I appreciate your comment.

  2. Oh wow, Thanks. Coming from you this is a real compliment.I am still rereading Epiphany.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

