Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

Sesame chicken is one of our favorite chinese take out dinners.

If you thought you couldn’t make it at home think again.

It may take a little time but the advantages are undeniable.

1. It’s cheaper.

2. You made it so you know exactly what is in the recipe.

3. You can adjust the seasonings according to your taste.

Ingredients:

  • 3 whole boneless chicken breasts

Marinade

Sauce

Frying

  • peanut oil (3 1/2-4 cups)

Directions:

Mix marinade ingredients together and toss chicken pieces to coat

Let marinate for 20 minutes.

Deep fry the chicken until golden brown.

I used dark meat legs and wings for my recipe.

Sauce:

Mix sauce ingredients together in a small pot and bring to a boil stirring continuously.

Turn heat to low and keep sauce warm until you are ready for use.

The sauce is excellent! I strongly advice you to double the recipe for the sauce. It is great on the chicken and can be used later for dipping vegies and meat.

Toast the sesame seeds in a dry frying pan until golden.

Put the chicken on a serving dish.

Spoon the sauce over the chicken.

Sprinkle the sesame seeds on top.

Serve sesame chicken with white or fried rice.

Enjoy this at home “take out” meal experience.

For what we would have paid for 2 people to eat out I served a lot of food to 8 people.

It took less than an hour to prepare and serve.

This is gmom and Hoo (enjoying his Library time).

Peace out.





Comments on: "Restaurant Style Chinese Sesame Chicken (Hoo Approved)" (9)

  1. If God had intended us to follow recipes,
    He wouldn’t have given us grandmothers.
    ~Linda Henley

  2. Oh my gosh — my husband is going to LOVE this! Thanks for sharing, with all the pictures. I’ll have to try it ASAP.

    Also, wanted to let you know I gave you the Stylish Blogger Award:

    http://wp.me/p1jBAi-ag

    Have a great day!

    • Oh Thanks HKHM,
      I have no idea what that is but I’m definitely going to check it out.
      If you make the sesame chicken for your tots I would go easy on the chili paste or siracha. It is a little heavy on the hot.
      Fondly,
      gmom 🙂

  3. This sounds awesome. I’d definitely use the sherry over the cooking wine. I like that you used different cuts of chicken.

  4. This looks absolutely delicious!

  5. […] Restaurant Style Chinese Sesame Chicken (Hoo Approved) (gmomj.wordpress.com) […]

  6. LaRhonda Smith. said:

    This dish looks very delicious and finger licking good. I’m definitely going to try this because my family and I love chicken. That’s all we eat all of the time. Every meal I cook just about has chicken with it. We never get tired of chicken especially new chicken recipes. Once again your pictures are awesome. You are an awesome cook. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

