Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

My Brother Climbs Trees

Tree Climbing

Image by tonyhall via Flickr

Jeff climbs so high up into the tree of our backyard I can barely see him.

When I was growing up we had an enormous tree in our backyard.

A glorious climbing tree. Perfect for kids to climb with big sturdy branches flared close enough together to make easy footholds and steps up to good heights.

But my brother Jeff was ridiculous. Our house was a full 3 stories and he would climb past the roof where I would watch him from my perch on the third floor fire escape.

“Jeff, Jeff you’re so high!!”

I don’t recall his ever answering, probably intent on getting ever higher in the tree.

I was content to climb to maybe 15 feet up where a few branches made a neat and comfortable seat where I could see all the neighboring yards and hear my mother’s putterings from the kitchen window.

But my brothers and especially Jeff he was a climber par excellance.

Going up up up to that point where a sister,

who looks up to a brother,

can see how awesome he really is.

Comments on: "My Brother Climbs Trees" (14)

  1. brothers are like that, yeah they are. lol

  2. Aww, what a cool brother. 🙂 I always really looked up to my brothers too, especially the oldest one, Andrew. He was my role model growing up, and always made me feel like I was cool and awesome.

  3. This reminded me of a time my son climbed up really high in a tree (while I was distracted talking to neighbors). He was about 4 years old, and I just froze when he called to me from the uppermost, tiny branches of a big maple. It took all my strength to very calmly say, “Good job honey! How about if you come down now.” He said, “Okay” and made his way down.

  4. This is the third wonderful post about climbing trees I’ve read in the past few hours. Great job!

    Here are the other two:

    http://partialview.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/fulcrum/

    http://play101.wordpress.com/2011/03/28/whats-a-waistline/

  5. Blog praise is cheaper than a Hallmark card, isn’t it? Great work!

  6. I blog quite often and I really appreciate your content.
    This article has really peaked my interest.
    I will take a note of your blog and keep checking for
    new details about once a week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

  7. thank you for visiting. reading this again after several years brings memories of my brother and childhood back. your comment came at a good time when I needed the reminder that Good and Godly things were present in those years. Thank you

  8. Hey! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you
    know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone4.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be
    able to fix this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Thanks!

  9. Useful info. Fortunate me I found your site by chance, and I am shocked why this twist of fate didn’t took place earlier!

    I bookmarked it.

  10. I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i
    am glad reading your article. But want to remark
    on some general things, The web site style is
    perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

