Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

I was in line at the bank standing behind an old friend.

My husband had hired her 25-year-old son to work in our company.

Because of the family friendship he was loath to fire the young man who was consistently late for work or didn’t show up at all.

She and I greeted each other with smiles and hugs.

She mentioned her son found the work hours too long and the work itself too menial, he would rather work in the office, “He is still so young. The work, you know, it’s so dirty.” She concluded.

It is dirty work, sucking oil out from drums behind restaurants in the dead of night. It’s dirty hard work with a big stinking truck that makes a lot of noise. So there.

I just looked at her and smiledĀ  remembering years earlier when her husband had to leave town for a job, unable to find anything local. I remembered her saying he would take a job doing anything.

Any job at all.

I wondered if she remembered.

Comments on: "The Work Is Dirty The Pay Is Clean" (9)

  1. The Hipster said:

    I work in an office helping wealthy, powerful men (still, in this day and age, predominantly male) become more wealthy and more powerful. At the end of the day, my soul can barely breathe anymore. Not a day goes by that I don’t remember the smell of honest, hard work in the chemical-soaked work uniform my father used to take off before entering the house.

    • My husband used to wear a suit everyday except for dress-down Fridays. After years he came to hate selling his skills. He wanted something to call his own. We gave up a steady income and benefits for him to find some peace of mind and happiness. Life isn’t the same but I wouldn’t trade it. It has been a great adventure and worth every sacrifice.

  2. That’s too bad. Working hard and getting dirty is a great way to prepare for life. It’s a shame he couldn’t appreciate the opportunity he was given.

    • With unemployment being as high as it is having a job is not to be taken for granted. I was dumbfounded by the disregard of this worker and his mother even after all she had been through with unemployment over an extended period. I also questioned just when do parents have the same expectations for their adult children as they do for any other adult I just don’t get it.

  3. Hey man, was just browsing through the internet looking for some information and came across your blog. I am impressed by the information that you have on this blog. It shows how well you understand this subject.

  4. Very well done.

  5. Valuable information and excellent website you got here! I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and time into the stuff you post!! Thumbs up

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

