Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

1979

I had just graduated high school.

I was spending an  inordinate amount of time weeping in the office of a compassionate guidance counselor. At 17 I couldn’t see my way out of the city I grew up in.

I would start college in a few weeks,  and nothing would change.

“I have to go to college, I have to support myself or I’ll never get out of here!” I wept.

He suddenly sat down and quietly spoke to me, as though he were about to share a secret.

“You can go now, you should go now.”

“I can??? But how??”

I didn’t know how.

Late that night after everyone was asleep and the house was dark and silent, I took the phone into the bathroom stretching the curly cord and squeezing the door shut on it.

I dialed my sister who was in school overseas.

“Please be there…please be there….”

A foreign voice answered. I asked for my sister. She came on the line. I immediately broke down in sobs, “Please can I come stay with you.”

“Of course! Yes!”

Not only was my sister willing for me to come to her she flew back to the states and took me with her.

I promised my parents I would be back in a year and go to school.

I packed everything that had any meaning to me in 2 suitcases.

I had $400 after paying for the airline ticket.

My sister held my hand in the cab to the airport.

The sun was shining.

I stopped crying then and there.

I turned to my sister, “I’m never going back.”

She hugged me. The sun was so bright. I couldn’t remember it ever shining so brightly as it did that day… and the sky was huge.

Comments on: "My Sister:Getting Out Of Town" (3)

  1. Wonderful! And beautifully written! Oh, that sense of freedom. Isn’t it delicious? It’s like the whole world opens up to something so much clearer and brighter than you ever expected. May your life be full of other huge opportunities. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

