Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

10 Things I say to my children, and 10

things my mother said to me.

____________________________________________________________________

1. Call me when you get there.

2. Clean up, I am not the maid here.

3. You want to leave? Do you need help packing?

4. Wait until your father gets home.

5. You only have to be tall enough for your feet to reach the ground.

6. Don’t smart mouth me young man (lady).

7. You’re going to take an eye out with that thing.

8. You can’t take care of anyone else if you don’t take care of yourself first.

9. It doesn’t matter what other people think,you can’t control that.

10. Don’t tell me to mind my business, you are my business.

and…

1. How do you know it tastes bad you haven’t tried it yet?

2. If you don’t have something pleasant to say, don’t say anything at all.

3. It’s for your own good.

4. No one said life was going to be fair.

5. What if all your friends were jumping off a cliff would you jump too?

6.  If I didn’t care, I wouldn’t say anything.

7.  It’s never going to heal if you don’t stop picking.

8. Be home before dark.

9. Put other people’s needs before your own.

10. Mind your own business.

Now which group of 10 were my 1950-1970’s mother and which are mine?

What do you say to your kids?

What did your mom say to you?

This is gmom,

peace out.

Comments on: "Things We Say To Our Kids/ Dad And Momisms" (5)

  1. My mom used to tell me:
    “I don’t hear the water running..!” when she had instructed me to take a shower.
    “Bring me the belt!” when she wanted to spank me.
    “Don’t sing at the table!”
    “Don’t play rough!”
    “Don’t talk back at me!”

    but still love her!

  2. I’m guessing the first 10 are what you’ve said, and the last 10 are what your Mom said. Though really, both lists are timeless and wise. I particularly liked the one about not caring what others think, one can’t control that. A good reminder.

    When my son whines, “You don’t like me.” My sisters suggested I respond with, “I do like you, I just don’t like this behavior.” Simple enough, yet hard to think of in the moment.

    Missed you GMomJ. Thanks for writing!
    ~ Lenore

    • Hey Lenore –
      If one of mine said ‘you don’t like me,or you’re not my friend.” I would say,”I’m not here to be your friend I’m your mother.” Wise or not that’s what popped out. I’m big on the knee jerk.
      I like what your friend suggested.

  3. Hilarious! Great job. You gave me a good laugh at work – just where I need it most!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

