Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

We Are Family Like That

When my brother’s fatal prognosis was told to our family. We were grouped together surrounding his wife. Hands all around her. On shoulders. On knees. Supporting and holding.

We are family like that. We hold each other up.

We listened intently to everything the doctor was saying not noticing my mother walking away. My elder sister noticed first.

Where is Mom?

We went to the hospital hallway and saw my mother running down the hospital hallway.  For myself, I had a moment of wanting to let her go. She had the right idea. Run Mom Run. But there was no where to run to. We went after her. Like the Keystone cops. We caught her, crying and struggling, out of control. We surrounded her. Someone brought a chair.

It’s okay mom, it’s okay,it’s going to be okay…

We put hands all around her. Held her. Supported her.  All of us, Including my sister in law.

We are family like that.

Now I understand why she ran.

But there really is no running from life.

These 5 revitalizing days alone at the beach have reminded me, that I am not alone in my struggles.  I have hands all around me. Holding me. Supporting me.

We are family like that.

Comments on: "We Are Family Like That" (11)

  1. Hugs, hugs and more hugs. You are in my thoughts each and every day. (((hugs))) ~ Lenore

  2. Anonymous said:

    My little pool is my ocean. I know what you mean–god, I miss the ocean!

    I don’t know you, except by what you’ve written to me, and I know we have lots of similars…but um…I feel a vibe in your words—something darker hanging over whatever you’re writing about. I am often (read: mostly) off base with this, and I don’t mean to imply or poke for what is not my business, and on top of all that, I barely manage to get beyond my twisted little world in the first place, but It seems, it sounds like maybe you’re watching those ocean waves by a flickering 40 watt bare bulb, and that water is bitter, bitter cold.
    I hope upon hope that this is just how I see things now–as if through sunglasses, and that your sand is hot under your feet and there are sandcrabs to be found if you look for the bubbles as the foam falls back. Yes, I hope you’re having the beach time that I love so much, perhaps even on a beach that I love, who knows? But if it is that slightly darker time, then please, please know that we are Balmer Girls, bound by formstone and snowballs. You can tell me–I’ve been in the dark before. lahbham@gmail.com
    –Leslie (autiesmama)

  3. sorry. I forgot to sign in. xhxhLeslie

  4. This is beautiful. Family is beautiful, and it is shown best through the most difficult times. I will pray for you and your family, dear heart.

  5. I’ve only just begun reading your posts, but am very touched by this one. Family is important and I am also blessed to have a family “like that.” You and your family are in our prayers…thank you for sharing~

  6. It ain’t always easy. But…as the kids say, it is what it is.
    Thankfully the hard summer times have passed with the tornadoes and hurricanes.
    We are today enjoying an early winter frost taking the pollen out of the air and promising a season of hibernation, hot chocolate, sleds and the quiet.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

