Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

Say something Cujo

For the second time in as many weeks a young woman showed up unannounced at my door. The first time she came she  said she was returning a CD that was borrowed long ago. She lingered (in the middle of my workday) until finally I asked her if she was running away from home. Lingering? I don’t know what to do with. Running away? I can handle. She left quickly after I asked. My kids always say I’m too blunt.

Today when she showed up  there was no CD to return. It was just her.

“Running away again?”

Can I just come in for a while. I just need a place to cry and have some quiet.

I sat with her for a moment while she pet ‘Cujo The Dog’.

“Do you want to talk?”

No, but can Cujo stay with me?

I showed her to the den, gave her a box of tissues and a drink.  She patted the couch next to her and Cujo jumped up and settled in by her side (traitor).  Furry traitor.

About 2 hours later I heard her call to me that she was leaving.  She smiled as she bid her farewell to ‘Cujo The Dog’.

I don’t get it. Cujo is alright as dogs go but when I share my problems with him he lies on the floor and puts his head under the couch.

“Hey, You’re suppose to be helping me here, not hiding under the couch!”

Oh well, that’s life in the fast lane. What we can’t do for each other we can sometimes do for a stranger.

This is gmom and Cujo ( The Traitor Dog),

peace out.

Comments on: "Cujo The Dog, MSW Petting Optional" (24)

  1. How very nice of you to open your door and give someone a place to just ‘be’ –
    Very nice, GMom. I am sure the guest was appreciative, too.
    Dogs are awesome. A silent partner, if you will. Sometimes silence is needed.
    Maybe – next time you want to talk to Cujo, you can pat the seat, and let him know you need him. Men and dogs…. so needy and demanding. (hee, hee)

    Hugs,
    Lenore

  2. LOL…Men and dogs??????

    No but seriously Lenore you crack me up!

  3. Sounds like Cujo is a great listener! It was nice of you to let the young woman in and spend some time with your dog.

    • Hi there Brittany,
      How’s the S.project going???
      I have got to catch up with you!
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Hope you’re having an awesome summer!

  4. Hey gmom, the shyness project has been great! I’m doing public speaking right now for my latest goal. Stop by the blog sometime! Thanks, I certainly am, I hope you are having a wonderful summer too!

  5. Public speaking!!!! OMG!!!!
    You know why the lion didn’t eat the gladiator?
    Because the gladiator told the lion he was going to have speak after he ate!
    You have a lot of guts!

  6. Love your writing as usual, Gmom!

  7. I always feel betrayed when our cat shows my wife more affection. I spend more time with the cat, and my wife didn’t even want a cat; I’ve tried explaining this to her but she still follows my wife around from room to room.

  8. You are a good person and have a good dog! Way to go Gmom.

  9. What a great tale!

  10. Don’t you mean tail? He does have a great tail.

  11. Bonnie Bopas said:

    Mom cujos more than just a traitor!! PS wheres my heroic tree falling media coverage?

  12. Wow, you opened your home to a stranger? I feel like no one does that anymore. How eye-opening to read your story. I’ll bet that, besides the impact you are having on this young girl today, long into the future she will recall your kindness. And it will heal.

  13. […] = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Cujo The Dog, MSW Petting Optional […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud