Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

Rose. Age 21. Daughter number 3, sixth child.

Fell off a moped during the final afternoon of labor day  beach vacation.

Broke both right forearm bones.

Road Rash” up and down her legs.

Drove her back to Baltimore to Union Memorial Hospital and the best upper extremity surgeons on the East Coast.

Now she has some hardware in her arm. A plate, pins and screws pulling the broken pieces all together. It’s been a long couple of weeks.

Before her surgery, she cried. I spoke softly to her and said the prayers from her childhood to comfort her.

After her surgery I slept by her. Gave her the pain medications, help her with all her needs, took her to the doctor and made repeated calls to him when she had questions.

I wiped her tears as she saw the track surgical scar run down her arm and the new shape of the back of her hand.

I handled the insurance company, her school medical leave letters and hooked her up with a decent physical therapist.

Now it’s 3 weeks post-op and the girl is back to normal.

Offended if I ask her if she wants me to cut a tag off the back of her shirt.

The cuddle-muffin who lay in my bed night after night is angry that I appeared at her PT appointment.

Miss Independent is back and I am left wondering if that momentary bond we shared when she was in pain and scared ever really happened.

Comments on: "I Need You Mom. No I Don’t. Yes I do." (14)

  1. wordsfallfrommyeyes said:

    Very eventful!!

  2. Oh, it happened. And the fact that you were there for her means more to her than words will every convey.
    Wow. What a journey. A bumpy journey at that.
    6 kids? Did I know this? I’m the youngest of 6.

    Miss Independent is not so independent. You may notice she’ll turn around and glance back towards you upon leaving… just to make sure you are still there.

  3. Great post today I really enjoyed reading it. Have a great day with your family.

    Add this Fun Family Activities link to your site.

  4. Thanks for visiting. I’ll be sure to check out your site!

  5. Gmom! You’ve got to stop making me cry. That picture — I have one just like it of my son, and he’s four. You’ve made me believe that no matter what happens, I will always see him as you see your daughter — as my baby. (Except in my picture, my son is simply sleeping. There’s no cast, thank God!)

    I am so happy you had those weeks with her, when she realized she needed you. I believe she’ll always need you, even if she has to prove, first, that she “doesn’t.” You’re a great mom.

  6. I don’t know if I am happy or sad after reading this. Happy to know my kids will have times when they need me at 21. Sad to know that they won’t most of the time.

    • That’s the truth. This experience does make me appreciate every day I have with 2 year old grandchild Hoo. His love at 2 is all the more precious because I now understand the brevity and fragile nature of complete and utter love.

  7. You ALWAYS need your Mom! They live to serve, right?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

