Here on the frontier, There are falling leaves, Although my neighbors are all barbarions…And you? You are a thousand miles away. There are always two cups on my table.

I Can’t help myself!

My guilty pleasure is Hell’s kitchen.

Being a foodie with a son who chefs also has me scouring Gordon Ramsay‘s recipe books.

Currently I am working through the recipes in his fabulous book,

“Gordon Ramsay’s Family Fare”

Every recipe I have made from  lamb cassoulet to salmon seviche has not only turned out tasting amazingly yummy but has been pretty darn easy to make.

I have to give cudos to the f-bomb dropping kitchen nightmare Gordon Ramsay.

He is all that and then some.

Beef Casserole:

Ingredients:

 Ingredients:

BEEF CASSEROLE

This casserole is the perfect winter warmer. Braising beef is slowly cooked with herbs and vegetables in red wine, which gives the stew a depth of color and a wonderful rich flavor.

1 3/4lb (800g) braising beef
3 tbsp all-purpose flour
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper olive oil, for cooking
7oz (200g) smoked bacon, cut into small cubes
2 medium carrots, peeled
1 small celeriac, about 1lb 9oz (700g), peeled
5oz (150g) pearl onions (or baby shallots), peeled
few thyme sprigs
2 bay leaves
9oz (250g) crimini mushrooms, trimmed halved if large
1 tsp tomato paste
2 cups (500ml) red wine
1 1/4 cups (300ml) beef or chicken stock
handful of Italian parsley, chopped

Instructions:

Heat the oven to 300°F (150°C). Cut the beef into bite size chunks. Season the flour with salt and pepper and toss the meat in the flour to coat.

Heat a little olive oil in a large cast-iron casserole over
medium heat. Sear the beef briefly in two or three batches until browned all over, then transfer to a plate and set aside.

Add the bacon to the casserole and sauté gently until lightly golden, adding a little olive oil if necessary.
Meanwhile, cut the carrots and celeriac into 3/4-inch (2-cm) cubes.

Tip them into the pan with
the whole onions, thyme, and bay leaves and stir over medium heat for 5 minutes until the vegetables begin to soften. Stir in the mushrooms and tomato paste and sauté for another 2 to 3 minutes.

Pour in the red wine and scrape the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon to deglaze.

Add the stock and bring the liquid to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for a few minutes.

Return the beef to the casserole and stir to immerse the meat in the liquid completely.

Put the lid on the casserole and cook in the oven for 2 1/2 hours or until the beef is very tender.
Check the seasoning, then scatter the chopped parsley over the stew.


As you can see from the picture there is no scattered parsley on top of the finished dish.
I also used a regular cooking onion instead of tiny pearl onions and bumped up the quantities of carrots and celery as well as beef.
You have to make a recipe your own by adjusting the seasonings to your own tastes and using ingredients that are available to you.
Don’t be afraid to be creative as long as the basic recipe remains intact.
For instance, using stew meat is a basic part of this recipe.Exchanging that for minute steak would not work.

The wine is also a basic element. You can leave it out if you have someone on anabuse who will be eating but you would want to exchange it with grape juice and a splash of vinegar.

If you keep a kosher kitchen as I do you can exchange the bacon for smoked meat.  I used lamb.

Lastly, I left out the bay leaves simply because the supermarket didn’t have them in the generic brand.
I wasn’t going to spend $4 for a jar of bay leaves from McCormick when I only use it occasionally.
Did not miss it one bit!

The casserole was simply amazing! Wonderful on a cold snowy October day.

WHAT? Snow in October??? Holy moly!!!

I think it’s time to take one last walk in the leaves.

Winter is coming!

Luckily Hoo and gmom loves us some snow!!!

this is gmom and baby Hoo

coming to you from beautiful Baltimore.

peace out.

Comments on: "Thank You Gordon Ramsay. The Beef Casserole Rocked!" (22)

  1. Good post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Bless you!

  2. Don’t feel bad; Hell’s Kitchen rocks! Chef Ramsay screams entirely too much, but that’s all part of the show, right?
    I’ve just never understood why these poor bastards keep messing up; it’s the same menu every year (risotto and beef wellington) so why don’t they perfect these dishes BEFORE their time on the show?
    I guess that would diminish the overall experience.

    • I think they screw up because Ramsay demands coordinated prep time between any number of cooks so the finished plate order comes to the serving counter simultaneously and perfect. That’s a lot of pressure. It’s awesome to watch though. Kitchen Nightmares is also a scream.

  3. That looks delicious! And I’m impressed that all of his recipes are that easy and delicious.

  4. I am not a meat lover … but I love seeing you active in the blogosphere!! Glad you and Hoo are enjoying winter … er, I mean fall.

  5. I’ll be making it for todays’ dinner. I am not going to use vine so I need to go shopping for some grape juice, thanks for the idea of the substitute.

  6. Okay, now I’m starving. But at least I know what I’m making for dinner tomorrow! Your enthusiasm is contagious. This line made me laugh out loud, “As you can see from the picture there is no scattered parsley on top of the finished dish.” Sounds like my kitchen! 🙂

    • With kids you are lucky if the food even stays on the plate!
      When Hoo eats the first thing he does is take all the food off the plate and put it on the table. Parsley??? No…..

  7. Happy Holidays gmom! Hope you are doing well and you are still cooking up a storm in the kitchen!

  8. Now if I could just find someone to cook everything for me….

  9. I have got to check out Hell’s Kitchen!

  10. Hi, I just hopped over to your website using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might normally browse, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for making some thing worth browsing.

  11. it looks like watered piss

  12. Looks nothing like it should. Looks grim I cook it all the time trust me that’s not what it suppose to look like

Leave a comment